In My Mailbox

38

November 25, 2012 by Alice in Readerland

In My Mail Box is a feature hosted by The Story Siren where you can share what books you received during the week. 

Be sure to keep an eye out for these upcoming reviews:

How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

“Rosie’s always been impulsive. She didn’t intend to set her cheating ex-boyfriend’s car on fire. And she never thought her attempts to make amends could be considered stalking. So when she’s served with a temporary restraining order on the first day of summer vacation, she’s heartbroken—and furious.

To put distance between Rosie and her ex, Rosie’s parents send her on a cross-country road trip with responsible, reliable neighbor Matty and his two friends. Forget freedom of the road, Rosie just wants to hitchhike home and win back her ex. But with every mile marker that passes, Rosie discovers a new sense of self…and that sometimes the best revenge is moving on.”

Also Known As by Robin Benway

From the hilarious and poignant author of Audrey, Wait! comes a fast-paced caper perfect for fans of Ally Carter. 

Being a 16-year-old safecracker and active-duty daughter of international spies has its moments, good and bad. Pros: Seeing the world one crime-solving adventure at a time. Having parents with super cool jobs. Cons: Never staying in one place long enough to have friends or a boyfriend. But for Maggie Silver, the biggest perk of all has been avoiding high school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations. 

Then Maggie and her parents are sent to New York for her first solo assignment, and all of that changes. She’ll need to attend a private school, avoid the temptation to hack the school’s security system, and befriend one aggravatingly cute Jesse Oliver to gain the essential information she needs to crack the case . . . all while trying not to blow her cover.”

Tokyo Heist by Diana Renn

“When sixteen-year-old Violet agrees to spend the summer with her father, an up-and-coming artist in Seattle, she has no idea what she’s walking into. Her father’s newest clients, the Yamada family, are the victims of a high-profile art robbery: van Gogh sketches have been stolen from their home, and, until they can produce the corresponding painting, everyone’s lives are in danger–including Violet’s and her father’s.

Violet’s search for the missing Van Gogh takes her from the Seattle Art Museum, to the yakuza-infested streets of Tokyo, to a secluded inn in Kyoto. As the mystery thickens, Violet’s not sure whom she can trust. But she knows one thing: she has to solve the mystery–before it’s too late.”

The Poodle and the Pea by Charlotte Guillain

“In Animal Fairy Tales, beautiful illustrations and simple text retell classic fairy tales from a new perspective: all the characters are animals! This book, a retelling of The Princess and the Pea, tells the story of the Poodle and the Pea, in which a lost dog is revealed to be a princess after a servant has a good idea.”

The Deadliest Cast Member by Kelly Ryan Johns

“AN INTERACTIVE THRILLER AT DISNEYLAND! Episode One of SEASON ONE is approximately 100 pages and sets the stage for a thriller that allows you to help shape upcoming events. Learn about the history of Disneyland and little known facts about the Resort while you follow the deadliest Navy SEAL in military history, Jack Duncan, on an adventure you will never forget. 

What would it be like to live at Disneyland? To talk with Walt Disney in his private apartment above Main Street? To ride Pirates of Caribbean with Johnny Depp?

Get a backstage pass to the thrill of a lifetime as Jack tries to prevent an attack on the Park he loves. Jack must dig deep into Disneyland history to find the clues he needs to thwart the attack and save thousands of lives. Get inside the mind of Walt Disney over coffee in his private apartment above the Fire Station, ride Pirates of the Caribbean with Johnny Depp, and delve deep into the legend of Jean Lafitte — the infamous nineteenth century pirate.

Live Jack Duncan’s life at Disneyland; former SEAL Team Six member, billionaire tech-mogul, and Disney Legend. From his residence at the El Capitan Presidential Suite at the Grand Californian Hotel, to the Dream Suite in New Orleans Square.

This novel will immerse you in the magic of Disneyland, keep you on your toes, and captivate you with Disneyland history and trivia.”

What books did you get this week?

Advertisements

38 thoughts on “In My Mailbox

  1. KateB says:

    Those should keep you busy for a while! I think the only books I got this week were the two I bought – Daughter of Smoke and Bone & Days of Blood and Starlight which are both by Laini Taylor. I saw them on special at my favourite bookstore and couldn’t help myself!

    Hope you enjoy your haul this week. :)

  2. Bella says:

    Ooh! These all look so good! I’m looking forward to reading Also Known As and How My Summer Went Up in Flames too, but I have to wait for them to come out :] Right now I’m reading Antony John’s Thou Shalt Not Road Trip.

  3. caitlore says:

    Looks like a great haul! I’m especially excited for Also Known As and Tokyo Heist. I love mystery/heist novels!

  4. Tokyo Heist is already out so I’ll hopefully by reviewing it later this week! I really love mystery/heist novels as well! :) Thanks for stopping by & commenting!

  5. Chey says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by! :) The more I see How My Summer Went Up in Flames, the more excited I get to read it!

  6. Oh, I love Robin Benway! I need to get my hands on that one! Enjoy :)

  7. Krystianna says:

    I’ve heard so many amazing things about Robin Benway’s novels. I bet this one won’t disappoint in the least! I hope you really enjoy all of your books this week because you had a big haul. :D

  8. Also Known As! That’s pretty much my most anticipated book of 2013, thanks to Audrey, Wait! Tokyo Heist looks like a fun story.

    Happy Reading! (:

  9. Lisa says:

    Wow, these all sound like pretty awesome books. I really want to read How My Summer Went Up in Flames.

  10. I plan on reading How My Summer Went Up In Flames for the Debut Author Challenge. I hope you enjoy it!

  11. Alethea says:

    Ooh, nice! I don’t have any of the above (well, I might have Tokyo Heist but I think someone borrowed it as soon as I got it and never brought it back, haha!) but they all look great. I love Robin Benway. Thanks for commenting on my mailbox!

  12. Ooh, How My Summer went up in Flames looks amazing! I hope that you love it so much! And I really like Robin Benway. (:

    Thanks for stopping by my post! :)

  13. Tokyo Heist and How My Summer Went Up in Flames both look like so much fun! Great Haul.

  14. I absolutely, positively ADORE Robin so when I first realized she had a new book coming out, I may have freaked a little bit (or a lot!). I hope you enjoy your new books :)

  15. melissaseclecticbookshelf says:

    Also Known As sounds hilarious! Hope you enjoy that and all your other new reads! Thanks for stopping by my Added to the Bookshelf post!

  16. nice haul this week. i haven’t heard of some of these but they look good. and i have heard some good things about tokyo heist. enjoy your new books!

  17. Lucy says:

    Awesome books this week! Tokyo Heist is really fun and I’m so looking forward to Robin Benway’s book. Enjoy all your new reads!

  18. How My Summer Went Up In Flames and Also Known As sound really good! I’m adding them to my TBR pile, thanks!

  19. Elizabeth says:

    Very lovely blog. Taking a look around.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

Leave your comment down the rabbit hole!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow Alice in Readerland and have new Readerland posts magically appear in your inbox!

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow the White Rabbit to Readerland!

A Week of Rapunzel

Alice in Readerland Presents Fairy Tale February

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

bookreviewblogs.com
bookreviewblogs.com
%d bloggers like this: