Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking: A 14 Day Mystery by Erin Dionne

14

September 30, 2013 by Alice in Readerland

MoxieFor fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes a clever, treasure-hunt mystery based on a real-life art heist.

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them–that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston’s biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and the people she loves will be in big-time danger.

Her tools? Her best friend, Ollie, a geocaching addict who loves to find stuff; her Alzheimer’s suffering grandfather, Grumps, who knows lots more than he lets on; and a geometry proof that she sets up to sort out the clues.

It’s a race against the clock through downtown Boston as Moxie and Ollie break every rule she’s ever lived by to find the art and save her family.

Thanks for making this review possible, ARCycling!

Since this book involves a treasure hunt, I’ll be doing this review with “Map/GPS Direction” headers. Because, hey, why not?

Start Here

I can never resist a good mystery, or a good treasure hunt. So a book that combines both, as well as mentioning From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
in it’s synopsis, was a sure-to-read for me! (Yes, I totally love
From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. I used to read it all the time and regret that I did not leave near a stunning museum that I could live in.)

Turn Right on Reality Road

I love that this book is based on the real Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist, knowing the story is real, the descriptions of the museum, and even the author’s note in the back really bring a history to this book. I also loved the Boston setting; between the well-described (not to mention famous) places where the treasure was hidden and the history, this story really felt alive to me.

Turn Left at Family Loyalty

Moxie has the really strong relationship with her Grandfather that I loved. She is so loyal and fierce to protect her family, and I loved seeing that in a book. It was really sweet and heartfelt, especially to me. I lost my Grandfather who I was really close to a few days before reading this book, and I’ve also dealt with Alzheimer’s in my family, so the emotions that Moxie was going through with being concerned over her Grandfather, and her descriptions of dealing with Alzheimer’s and the uncertainty of it, really touched me and felt genuine (as did the book’s dedication).

Continue on Geocashing Drive

I thought the geocashing aspect was really neat! I heard about geocashing once in passing, and I had never seen it in a book before, so I love how that’s incorporated a bit into the book and goes along with the treasure hunting theme.

Look for Yield Sign at Cynical Cindy Says

I’ll admit it: Sometimes Moxie made me want to shake her and say “Look, Moxie, I know you’ve got a lot of, well, Moxie, but someone is threatening you. Please go tell someone other than your geocaching buddy.” But then again, if she did tell someone else, then I suppose we wouldn’t have this story–which would be a real shame.

The Final Destination

Filled with humor, hijinks, mystery, and of course, an awesome treasure hunt, Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking would make a fun read!

3 Teacups

3 out of 5 tea cups

I love comments

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking: A 14 Day Mystery by Erin Dionne

  1. I love the way you formatted this review!

  2. Lucy says:

    I loved the Mixed Up Files too, and this book sounds charming!

  3. This seems like a fun read! My grandpa had Alzheimer’s, so I definitely want to see how the author handles it because what you described sounds really touching.

    • This is a MG book, so it didn’t delve into it as much, but it’s only the 2nd book I’ve read that dealt with the topic (I think the other one was Belles by Jen Calonita) and I was pleased with how it was presented. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

  4. Bella says:

    I really enjoyed this book! I also loved the way you formatted this review :)

  5. DoingDewey says:

    Moxie is such a great name! This sounds like a nice fun read :)

  6. Sunny says:

    This is such a cute review, but of course, the book sounds absolutely cute as well! I think I’d have to remind myself the same, that if she did tell someone, we wouldn’t have the story. But still. Love it!

    • Thanks! I know, so many stories I want to slap the leads for diving in headfirst, but at the same time I have to go, “Well, if they didn’t, then you wouldn’t be sitting here with this book…”

Leave your comment down the rabbit hole!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow Alice in Readerland and have new Readerland posts magically appear in your inbox!

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow the White Rabbit to Readerland!

A Week of Rapunzel

Alice in Readerland Presents Fairy Tale February

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

bookreviewblogs.com
bookreviewblogs.com
%d bloggers like this: